Public Power Daily Logo

EPA offers webcast today on recently proposed 'Waters of the US' rule


From the April 7, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 7, 2014

By Jeannine Anderson
Editor
The Environmental Protection Agency will host a webcast today (Monday, April 7) on the proposed "Waters of the U.S." rule that was released late last month by the EPA and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (see the March 27 Public Power Daily). To register for the webcast, go to the online registration page.

The webcast will take place from 1 to 3 p.m., Eastern time.

Speakers will be: 
•  Nancy Stoner, acting assistant administrator, Office of Water, U.S. EPA; and
•  Donna Downing, Jurisdiction Team leader, Wetlands Division, U.S. EPA.

The webcast will provide a broad overview of the proposed rule and its costs and benefits, the EPA said.
 
"We are clarifying protection for the upstream waters that are absolutely vital to downstream communities," EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy said when the rule was released on March 25. "Clean water is essential to every single American, from families who rely on safe places to swim and healthy fish to eat, to farmers who need abundant and reliable sources of water to grow their crops, to hunters and fishermen who depend on healthy waters for recreation and their work, and to businesses that need a steady supply of water for operations."

For more information about today's webcast, see the flyer put out by the EPA. 
 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications 
Meena Dayak
202/467-2948
MDayak@publicpower.org 

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org