Public Power Daily Logo

Kelly begins tenure as APPA CEO by lining up senior staff team

From the April 1, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published April 1, 2014

Sue Kelly marked her first day (April 1) as APPA’s new president and chief executive officer by lining up a senior staff team, including replacements for her as general counsel and as vice president of policy analysis. Joe Nipper was named senior vice president, regulatory affairs and communications, and Joy Ditto will be senior vice president, legislative and political affairs. Delia Patterson replaces Kelly as general counsel, and Allen Mosher will be vice president, policy analysis.

Continuing on APPA's senior management team are Mike Hyland, senior vice president of engineering services; Jeff Haas, vice president of membership and information technology; Harry Olibris, chief financial officer; Ursula Schryver, vice president of education and customer programs; and Deborah White, vice president of human resources. Joining the senior management team is Meena Dayak, the association's new vice president of integrated media and communications, who started her new post on March 24 (see the People column in the April 3 Public Power Daily).

Nipper will supervise APPA’s policy analysis, communications and environmental activities. Allen Mosher and Delia Patterson will report to him, along with Theresa Pugh, director of environmental services; and Meena Dayak, head of integrated media and communications.

Joy Ditto will supervise APPA’s legislative and grass roots staff. She will manage APPA’s political affairs, including grassroots activities, PowerPAC, the Advisory Committee, and interaction with local public power policy makers to promote APPA’s positions before the federal government.

Delia Patterson will continue to handle legal affairs related to APPA’s regulatory and legislative activities and will advise Kelly on contracts and other APPA business matters. Elise Caplan, director of APPA’s Electric Market Reform Initiative, will report to Patterson as they work closely on the market reform initiative and other APPA priorities.

Allen Mosher’s primary responsibility will be overall policy analysis with a focus on matters before the North American Electric Reliability Corporation as well as energy policy formulation and advocacy before the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, federal courts, other federal agencies and industry policy forums. Reporting to Mosher are Jim Cater, director of economic and financial policy; Nathan Mitchell, director of electric reliability standards and compliance; Paul Zummo, manager of policy research and analysis; and Paul Libus, policy analysis assistant.



Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)


Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro