Public Power Daily Logo

Scudder, Nieborsky elected to lead APPA Mutual Aid Working Group; framework released

From the February 7, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published February 7, 2014

By Puesh Kumar
Director, Engineering and Operations
Danette Scudder

Danette Scudder and Gary Nieborsky have been elected chair and vice chair, respectively, of APPA’s newly formed Mutual Aid Working Group. The two officers were elected when the group met Jan. 29-30 in San Antonio.

Scudder is the member services manager at the Tennessee Valley Public Power Association in Chattanooga, Tenn., and Nieborsky is the manager of distribution engineering and operations manager at the Central Lincoln People's Utility District in Florence, Ore. 

At the San Antonio meeting, the Mutual Aid Working Group discussed the development of a national Mutual Aid Plan for public power utilities. As part of that effort, the group released a framework that outlines the goals for what an eventual MAP will look like. The framework focuses on the following elements:

• Roles of utilities, network coordinators, and APPA;
• Flowchart to reference when mutual aid is needed;
• Best practices, templates, and resources for municipal utilities; and
• Implementation and maintenance of a national mutual aid plan.

Gary Nieborsky

APPA utility members can access the MAP Framework at

More information about APPA’s Mutual Aid Working Group, along with details about the association’s other efforts and resources related to mutual aid, is posted at is available by contacting Michael Hyland, APPA's senior vice president of engineering services, or Puesh Kumar, engineering and operations director, at mutualaid@publicpower.orgor 202/467-2994.



Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Senior Vice President, Publishing 
Jeanne Wickline LaBella

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro