Public Power Daily Logo


From the November 25, 2013 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published November 25, 2013

Barbara Grimes, general manager at the Burlington Electric Department in Vermont, will retire on June 30, 2014, after 14 years at the position. Prior to working at B.E.D., she was commissioner of the Department of Employment and Training for the state of Vermont. Prior to that, she served for five years as commissioner of the state’s Department of Housing and Community Affairs in the Agency of Commerce. Before that, she served five terms in the Vermont State House of Representatives. She currently chairs the Vermont Interactive Television Council and is chair of Housing Vermont. She serves on the boards of the Chittenden County United Way and the Northeast Public Power Association. She also serves on APPA’s CEO Climate Change and Generation Policy Task Force.

Will Lutgen, executive director of the Northwest Public Power Association in Vancouver, Wash., will retire on March 31, 2014. "It has been the best job of my career and I’ve appreciated the opportunity to be of service to the consumer-owned electric utility industry," said Lutgen. He will pursue consulting or limited project work upon his retirement. He was hired as NWPPA’s executive director in March 2002.

Ken Webb, senior vice president and chief financial officer at Cleveland Utilities in Tennessee, was named president and chief executive officer. He succeeds Tom Wheeler, who retired. A certified public accountant since 1979, Webb joined CU in 1987 and was named accounting division manager in 1988.

Andy Despain, vice president and staff counsel at the Indiana Municipal Power Agency in Carmel, Ind., has been named general counsel and vice president. He joined IMPA in 2011. Shanah Tran also joined the agency as administrative assistant, supporting member services, marketing, economic development, government relations and legal services. 

Michael Jones, power supply and environmental affairs officer at Seattle City Light in Washington, has been appointed to the Energy Northwest Board of Directors.

James Moss, director of energy with the United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry of the United States, Canada and Australia, has been appointed to the Energy Northwest Executive Board. 

Timothy Root, a general contractor in Key West, Fla., was elected to the utility board for the Keys Energy Services. The utility board also appointed Peter Batty as its chair and Mona C. Clark as vice chair. Batty has served on the board since 2005, and Clark since 2004. Lynne Tejeda, KEYS’ general manager and chief executive officer, was also re-appointed as secretary of the board.

Jason Van Hoffman succeeds Levette Dixon, who is relocating to Georgia, as communication manager at the Fort Pierce Utilities Authority in Florida. He previously worked for Ogilvy and Mather, an international advertising, marketing and public relations agency. He also previously worked for Florida Power and Light Co. in Miami as customer service field operations manager, as well at Chesapeake Utilities Corp. as manager of marketing services. 

Benjamin Beberness, chief information officer and assistant general manager of information technology at the Snohomish County Public Utility District No. 1 in Everett, Wash., has been named the 2013 CIO of the Year for Small Utility by Energy Central. The award is given annually to an information technology executive who demonstrates innovative leadership through effective use of technology.


Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Senior Vice President, Publishing 
Jeanne Wickline LaBella

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro