Public Power Daily Logo


From the October 17, 2013 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published October 17, 2013

Michael Jones

Michael Jones joins Seattle City Light in Washington as power supply and environmental affairs officer. He previously worked in Jacksonville, Fla., where he owned his own consulting business, CEO Focus, which provided executive coaching, management and technical consulting services. He also worked for The Energy Authority in both Jacksonville and Bellevue, Wash., for 12 years. He began his career as an officer in the U.S. Navy, stationed in Norfolk, Va. 

Peter Batty, a member of the utility board of the city of Key West, Fla., has been re-elected. Batty was first elected to the board in 2005. He is a licensed real estate broker and family mediator in the state of Florida.

               APPA board news
Dan Sullivan

Dan Sullivan, chief executive officer and director of investments for the Grand River Dam Authority in Vinita, Okla., has been elected to APPA’s board of directors. Sullivan’s seat was previously held by Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority General Manager Cindy Holman, who recently retired. Sullivan will finish Holman’s term before becoming eligible for election to a full term. Since June 2012, Sullivan has been a member of the Large Public Power Council’s board of directors. Since July 2012, he has been a member of the APPA CEO Climate Change and Generation Policy Task Force. He is also a member of APPA’s Legislative and Resolutions Committee and PowerPAC. 

Leon Schochenmaier

Leon Schochenmaier, city administrator for Pierre, S.D., has been elected to APPA’s board of directors. Schochenmaier’s seat was previously held by Diane Johnson, former general manager of Waverly Light and Power in Iowa. Sullivan will finish Johnson’s term before becoming eligible for election to a full term. He has been city administrator for Pierre since 2006. Since 2009, he has served on the Missouri River Energy Services board of directors. He also serves as director for the South Dakota Water and Wastewater Association, the South Dakota City Managers Association and the Upper Plains City Managers Association. He worked for more than 20 years for the South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resources and 10 years for the state’s Department of Transportation, retiring as its chief engineer. He is a member of APPA’s PowerPAC.



Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Senior Vice President, Publishing 
Jeanne Wickline LaBella

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro