Public Power Daily Logo

APPA offers Sept. 10 webinar on GASB 68 (Pension Accounting)


From the September 4, 2013 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published September 4, 2013

By Meghan Riley
Education Coordinator

On Tuesday, Sept. 10, APPA will hold a webinar, "GASB 68 - Pension Accounting," from 2 to 3:30 p.m., Eastern time, led by Jodi Dobson, manager of the Energy and Utilities Group at Baker Tilly Virchow Krause in Madison, Wis.
            
In 2012, the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) issued Statement No. 67 for pension plans and No. 68 for employers providing pension benefits. This webinar will explore the change in actuarial methods and assumptions, deferral and amortization periods for changes in benefits and assumptions or differences between actual and expected performance, as well as discuss the new reporting requirements related to pension liabilities and related disclosures.
          
Dobson will also discuss the potential impacts of these changes on funding requirements, budgets and rate recovery and highlight some of the issues to be considered by management in advance of implementation.
         
The webinar is worth 0.2 continuing education units, 1.5 professional development hours and 1.5 continuing professional education credits.
            
For more information and to register, visit www.APPAAcademy.org under Webinar Series or contact Meghan Riley at MRiley@PublicPower.org or 202/467-2919.

 

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Senior Vice President, Publishing 
Jeanne Wickline LaBella
202/467-2948
JLaBella@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org