Public Power Daily Logo

Columbia Water & Light wins ACE Award

From the March 28, 2013 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published March 28, 2013

By David Blaylock
Manager, Integrated Media

In recognition of its continued energy efficiency activities, Columbia Water & Light in Missouri was named the winner of APPA's Award of Continued Excellence for this year. The award, presented each year by the association's Demonstration of Energy& Efficiency Developments (DEED) program, was announced March 26 at the Engineering and Operations Technical Conference in Kissimmee, Fla.

David Storvick, engineering manager for Columbia Water & Light, accepted the Award of Continued Excellence from DEED Board Chair Mike Litterer. Photo by Skip Stowers

"This award recognizes a utility’s continued commitment to the DEED program and its ideals, including innovation, support of research, development and demonstration, improving efficiency, renewable resources and support of public power," said Mike Litterer, assistant general manager and operations manager for Waverly Light & Power and DEED board chair.
Since joining DEED in 1983, Columbia has received multiple DEED grants and a student scholarship. These research grants "have assisted DEED members in advancing energy efficiency and renewable energy programs," Litterer said. "Columbia has done marketing research in the area of solar feed-in tariffs, worked on collaborative biomass projects, and been a leader in Missouri in the areas of residential and commercial energy efficiency."
This is Columbia’s second ACE win, having previously received the award in 2005. In 1985, the utility also earned a DEED Energy Innovator Award for its Cooperative Energy Management/Conservation Office program, which assisted local governments with energy management.
The ACE Award was established by the DEED board of directors in honor of the program’s 20th anniversary in 2000.


Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Senior Vice President, Publishing 
Jeanne Wickline LaBella

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro