Public Power Daily Logo

APPA offers safety webinar on accident investigation and near misses


From the February 27, 2013 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published February 27, 2013

On Tuesday, March 5, APPA will hold a safety-related webinar on Accident Investigation and Near Misses from 9 to 10:30 a.m., Eastern time. The early time slot is designed to allow utilities in all time zones to register for the webinar and use it as a monthly safety training session. Utilities registering for any APPA webinar are allowed to use a speaker phone and projection screen so that more than one person can view the webinar.

Conducting accident investigations and recording near misses can help prevent future incidents from unsafe behavior or conditions. These reports can provide valuable information to other employees who were not at the scene of the accident or near-miss.

Mike Byrd, safety and training supervisor for ElectriCities of North Carolina, will lead the webinar.  He will discuss the important role of near-miss reporting in the culture of safety at a utility and the importance of maintaining training records for employees.

This webinar is worth 0.2 continuing education credits, 1.5 professional development hours and 1.5 continuing professional education credits.

For more information, visit www.APPAAcademy.org or contact Meghan Riley at 202/467-2919 or MRiley@PublicPower.org.

Ratings

Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.

Comments

  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Senior Vice President, Publishing 
Jeanne Wickline LaBella
202/467-2948
JLaBella@publicpower.org

Editorial Director
Robert Varela
202/467-2947
RVarela@publicpower.org

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson
202/467-2977
JAnderson@publicpower.org

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush
202/467-2958
FForbush@publicpower.org

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock
202/467-2946
DBlaylock@publicpower.org

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro 
202/467-2955 
LDAlessandro@publicpower.org